WZRD- High off Life

Welcome to post number two of Understanding the Rhymes.  This week we will be going into detail of WZRD’s song High off Life.

WZRD is a group comprised of two members: Kid Cudi and Dot da Genius. After two very successful albums, Cudi decided to collaborate with Dot da Genius to create a slightly different style of rap music, one heavily rock influenced.  While WZRD was writing their album, Cudi was going through a major lifestyle change, sobriety.  On his first two albums Cudi would rap mostly about weed and alcohol. Cudi would write songs with lyrics like, “pretty green bud all in my blunt, oh I need it, we can take off now, oh marijuana.”

“I dont smoke weed anymore. Ill leave it to the kids. Im 27 with a business to run and I need to be alert and focused with my mind strong. For those who still get it on, smoke one in my memory as your favorite lonely stoner.” –Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi suffering from writer’s block

This lifestyle change unfortunately caused the former pot head to go through a writer’s block lasting 5 months.  Finally he was able to break the block and began on another album.  This song, as the title suggests, is about being high on life rather than drugs.  Here is the link to the song followed by the lyrics:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecNUu0b3cpo

[Verse 1]
Moved on up to the condo in Chicago
Out in LA I got the house in the hills
Hand out the window feel the wind on my fingertips
Cruisin’ cruisin’ I’m on my way
Searchin’ searchin’ I need to find some more of it
New things and new places to go
Fiending fiending oh I want another hit
It takes me up and I never come down

[Hook]
I never ever thought it could be
Never thought the day would come for me
When I would be high off life
Oh there’s so much I haven’t seen

[Verse 2]
Hey mama I’m livin’ la vida
No need to worry bout’ your baby no more
I am feelin’ the rush, takin’ hits up off of experience
Floatin’ floatin’ I am on my way
Searchin’ searchin’ I need to find some more of it
New things and new places to go
Fiendin’ fiendin’ oh I want another hit
It takes me up and I never come down

[Hook]

[Bridge]
Help me
I’m OD’in off the life
Say it

[Hook]

Analysis

The first verse starts with lyrics reminiscent of “the old Cudi.”  His verse is a mix between two sides.  One is rapping about drugs, “Searchin’ searchin’ I need to find some more of it,” and “fiending fiending oh I want another hit.” He is also describing the natural world around him, about the wind on his fingers and finding new places he can visit.  It makes us ask the question, ‘are the drugs making him feel this way?’

In the chorus everything is cleared up. We discover that this new drug he is on is life.  “Never thought the day would come for me, when I would be high off life,” holds a lot of meaning for Cudi.  He not only battled a marijuana addiction, but he was also arrested for possession of cocaine in 2010.  In an interview with MTV, Cudi discusses his addiction stating that, “Doing bumps [of cocaine], I was able to get through the day, but then I would smoke weed to calm me down — it was the only way I could get through the day without people noticing I was doing it.”  To be sober after a history of dangerous drug use is impressive and even Kid Cudi himself expresses this surprise through his songs.

The second verse is almost identical to the first, except for the beginning.  Cudi is finally happy and his mom doesn’t need to worry about a drug overdose or possession charge anymore.

This song has a great message; drugs are not needed to make great music.  It also gives hope for people with drug problems.  No matter what someone’s past is they can overcome it and move on to a positive future.  Kid Cudi battled drug problems that could have endangered his life.  Now, not only is he a successful rapper, but he is also healthy and living a happy life.

2 thoughts on “WZRD- High off Life

  1. I have enjoyed reading these blog posts on the analysis of rap lyrics. It is interesting getting a little back story from the artist’s life and getting to learn who they really are. I feel that a lot of people listen to songs, and even recite the lyrics without ever actually thinking about what the words mean and represent. This is an interesting topic and I look forward to reading more of these posts.

    I also appreciate how you don’t choose to analyze songs that are strictly about doing drugs and picking up chicks.

  2. This blog as a whole is cool in that it is not about the mainstream rap game. I am very into rap, and have never heard of WZRD, but am interested to learn more about him.

Leave a Reply

